12 comments on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s

  1. You know I have never seen this yet I have a medium sized poster of this film in my room! I guess it was just because if no one else was going to put it up, and someone bought it, then I didn’t want it to go to waste. Also I think I can appreciate that poster now more than I did when I put it up. :D Well now I wanna see this movie! Like you said, who knows if I’ll enjoy it, but I like classic films alright, so I think I’ll give it a shot. :)

  2. Saw this film my freshman year at college…a different time and place, a different age; but absolutely everyone LOVED this film at the time. I still get a tear in my eye when she finds CAT at the end. I know that Mickey Rooney’s role has come in for criticism in the modern era of PC; but I thought it was a hoot at the time, and I still get a kick out of it.! Let’s also acknowledge Patricia Neal’s very supporting performance as Peppard’s Sugar-momma.
    This was really quite a year for Audrey Hepburn, as her other major performance that year was as Shirley MacLaine’s partner in THE CHILDREN’S HOUR. The differences of the two performances–Holly Golightly and Karen Wright are stunning and among her best!

    • Thanks Ken, now I need to check out The Children’s Hour. Even though I saw Rooney’s role as racist, I laughed every time he hit his head on that lamp.

  3. This was the first Hepburn film I ever saw and the one thing I really loved about it is how well she can play what most would call crazy and eccentric, especially when the real Fred dies. While I was watching it I could never remember that Paul’s name wasn’t actually Fred. The acting was great and I was quite disappointed when she didn’t win best actress, the music was very good and easy to tell if you’ve seen any Pink Panther movie that it was by the same composer(or of course you can just pay attention to the opening credits). And of course the movie was amazing.

    • Thank you so much for commenting, Bettina! Watching how deep Hepburn goes when she gets the news about Fred is shocking, but done so well, it’s amazing. Thanks for bringing up the Pink Panther similarities. The film’s director, Blake Edwards, is best known for the Pink Panther movies, which he started a couple years after this one.

  4. I can’t believe I never realized that the couch was a bath tub (or vice-versa). That is so hilarious!
    The thing is love most about this movie is that I can never quite tell how much of Holly is her acting the society-girl part and how much is actually her. I’ve seen it twice and I came up with different answers both times. It’s a mystery! That line of OJ’s really nails it: “She’s a phony, but she’s a real phony. She actually believes in all that phony stuff she believes in.” That one line serves as a great filter for Holly’s character, and then the rest of the movie because it’s all around her.
    My very close second favorite part would have to be cat. It’s such a great symbol. When she lets cat out of the car at the end it’s so sad. If she left Paul behind I’d be sad, sure, but when it looks like she’s leaving cat it’s just heartbreaking.
    The book to movie transfer was very good. It had the same type of spirit as the novella and that’s hard to come by. I don’t know anything about the competition for the adapted screenplay oscar that year, but it seems to me like Breakfast at Tiffany’s should have won.

    • That’s a great line that really sums up Holly, thanks for bringing that up, Hunter. I’ve only heard good things about how the film compares to the novella, but it was Judgment at Nuremberg that won the adapted screenplay award instead.

  5. I agree that the romance is not the big factor here, perhaps because Peppard’s character was gay in the original story. The romance element is a Hollywood addition to a story which really didn’t need it.

    People like that still come to New York, by the way. I knew quite a few during the punk-rock era who were living lives very much like the one Holly lives — just with different music. I’ve met others since, too. And Capote was one himself.

    Also, I will point out that, unless I misunderstand the point you’re making, Sing-Sing is the name of a real prison, somewhat north of New York City.

Leave a Reply

