13 comments on “Her

  1. This is one of my favorites of 2013 for the way it was able to blend emotion and intellect so well. There was a lot to think about here, but that didn’t take away from what I felt. I agree that some of the comedy was off though, for sure. In terms of genre, I was thinking it was like a rom-com sci-fi movie, if that makes sense. There’s a lot of drama in there too, but the science fiction aspect is probably the strongest for me. When I was watching it I was able to relate it to a lot of classic sci-fi films, as artificial intelligence is a popular topic in a lot of them. It uses technological advancements to question what it means to be human, and for me that goes straight into sci-fi. I think it fits pretty well into the cannon and I hope it is able to stay there in the future.

    • Thank you, Hunter, very interesting. I felt that it was a very light science fiction film, only because I can imagine this future becoming reality so soon. I do look forward to the style of video games Theodore was playing.

  2. Good review Alyson. A beautiful movie that definitely has you believe in its romance, as odd as it may be. But that’s just the type of talent Spike Jonze is and it makes me wish he’d make more movies.

  3. A smart film, which impacts us in numerous ways. You can see it if you like sci-fi. drama, comedy, or rom-com, as I believe it is all of those. I suppose one would see many more folks – going about talking with no one in sight in urban environments than in suburban or rural places. But when Theodore sits alone, stunned about not being able to cntact Samantha, and the world passes by him – with most of the folks engaged in conversations – I felt that this was a particularly sad moment for Theodore, and for us as well because the film is so immersive – we really do forget about everything in front of us except the film.

    Thanks for this very fine review.

  4. Great review. I ended up seeing the film and I loved it. Like you, it stayed with me for days after. I also wish Jonze would make more movies (Begin John Malkovich fan here as well!).

  5. I agree that while there are some funny moments this is definitely a drama about a relationship that is out of the ordinary. I compared it to Harold and Maude in my review because that was about the most “out there” one I could remember seeing in a film.

  6. Pingback: » Movie Review – Her Fernby Films

Leave a Reply

