2 comments on “The Reader

  1. oh that was a dull one. The way the film played for awards I found almost offensive – but maybe at the end of the day, boredem and indifference won. Only Ralph Fiennes impressed me, but only on an intellectual level. I have to admit I can hardly remember the film today, though, and the same applies to the book, which was a big success in Germany and did considerably well on the international markets, too. My take from when I saw it: http://thomas4cinema.wordpress.com/2009/03/17/the-reader-stephen-daldry-2008/

  2. An underwhelming film all-in-all. “You might cringe”? I cringed through the first half of the movie with all the explicit sex between an adult and a minor. I found this film utterly amazing and hypocritical in all its acclaim. If this had been about a 30-something year-old man and a 15 year-old girl, would it even have been made? Wound up being just a thouroughly unpleasant film experience. Not even Winslet’s best effort but I guess she’d been around so long that they were looking for a reason to give her an Oscar…my choice in 2008: Angelina Jolie for “Changeling”.

Leave a Reply

