2 comments on “To Kill a Mockingbird

  1. I had a similar experience with reading Mockingbird in high school (as I’m sure many people have). It grabbed me more than any other novel we took in school. And Peck’s performances is really spot on.

  2. This was my choice by far for Best Film of the Year in ’62. From the opening credits with the cigar box and the incredible score of Elmer Bernstein to Atticus, Boo, and Scout on the porch at the end, this was an emotional stunner! Seldom, if ever, have I seen a film so faithful in adaptation to a novel, including some of the most beautiful lines ever written/spoken. An absolutely great film and performance! Years later when watching “Capote” and hearing him dismiss Lee’s novel in such arrogant terms…actually changed my opinion of Capote and I wound up not liking that movie because of his attitude towards “Mockingbird”.

Leave a Reply

