6 comments on “All About Eve

  1. Are you kidding about Best Picture? Sure, there were other excellent films that year, especially “The Asphalt Jungle” and “The Third Man” (which, inexplicably weren’t even nominated); but only “Sunset Boulevard” comes close to EVE. The acting is superb, the script brilliant, with memorable lines and a wonderful appearance by Marilyn Monroe…a truly great film! The one thing I’ve always wondered about is why Thelma Ritter disappears half way through the film. Anyway,”All About Eve” is one of the all-time cinema classics…deserved many Oscars; I still love it! Check out the extras on the 2-disc version.

    • I don’t necessarily disagree with it’s win back in 1950, but for today’s average viewer I realize that the dark,cynical tone of Sunset Boulevard is more agreeable and understood. Plus, Sunset has more visually beautiful. More tomorrow.

  2. I like this movie better than Sunset, but I understand what you’re saying. As for the acting, I mostly found it great, with the exception of Baxter. Am I alone on that?

    • I hadn’t really verbalized the thing about Baxter, although I always felt that she didn’t belong in the same Best Actress category as Bette Davis; but now that you mention it, her performance was certainly adequate but remarkably similar to her performance 6 years later as Nefretiri in “The 10 Commandments”. Perhaps her strength in film was in playing herself?

  3. I found I appreciated this more on a second viewing, and would probably see it a third time very shortly

  4. SOMETHING I FIND INTERESTING…..BOTH DAVIS AND BAXTER WERE NOMINATED FOR AN ACADEMY AWARD…BUT CANCELLED EACH OTHER OUT, AS BAXTER WOULD NOT ACCEPT BEING PUT IN A SUPPORTING ACTRESS CATEGORY…SEEMS SHE TOOK HER PART A BIT TO SERIOUSLY…I THINK BOTH DESERVED THE AWARD…..GREAT FILM AND FANTASTIC ACTING ALL AROUND…

Leave a Reply

