8 comments on “The Social Network

  1. Your final comment about the defining picture of this generation may account for the film’s warm reception; but here’s where I realize that there is a generation gap. As one of the old fogeys, I have long ago made the decision to stay as far away from Facebook, etc. as possible. I’m amazed at all these folks, including siblings and friends going on the internet, revealing everything and anything in a self-absorbed ongoing narrative which is better reserved for a few close friends…it’s like the ultimate in a neverending reality show in which we can all star. That’s why, when I heard what the film was about, I did NOT walk down the street to see it. So now, unfortunately, it looks like I’ll have to watch the much-nominated film; but I sure don’t have to like it! Maybe I’ll be bowled over by the performances. (I warned you that I was “Old School” on this subject)…here’s hoping.

  2. So… did you like it?

    And Ken, the movie is about more than Facebook. If you like smart writing and great acting, then watch it. It is a film about friendships and betrayals as well as the shift in power that the world of technology is going through.

    • I’ll give it a try (…here’s hoping). It’s just that some flicks seem so geared to a particular audience, that they can turn off whole unintended segments of the populus. But the nomination guarantees that I shall make the effort.

    • Oh, did I not come out cut and dry with a like or dislike? I liked it because it was so well done, because of the intriguing story and because it sort of turns Zuckerberg into this flawed mythical figure behind Facebook.

      And Ken, listen to Ian. I didn’t find this to be a Facebook generation only film. Hope you enjoy it.

  3. what I found a bit tricky is to distance myself from the film’s story. I should have, because it clearly uses some factual elements to narrate a story of fiction that has probably little to do with “what really happened” – but is hard to do that when the story that you see is so utterly credible. There is no way these people are not the jerks as which the author presents them. the great thing about The Social Network is that it tells a story that is more true than the underlying reality by presenting a fictionalised version of it, an allegory that arrives like a photography. more twisted than dreaming of watching Inception, if I may …

  4. Well, I saw it. and other than admiring Jesse Eisenberg’s performance, I found it stunning that this is purported to have happened at Harvard U. Now I enjoyed partying at college as much as the next guy; but this was ridiculous. Either these people had WAAAY too much time on their hands, or college has gotten really easy so that everyone can spend all their time on line seeing who they can hook up with. The friendship/betrayal theme is also distressing to watch…in the end I’m left with the BU girlfriend’s words to Mark Z: you’re not having a hard time getting a date because you’re a nerd, but because you’re an a–hole” Unfortunately, just about everyone in that film was an a–hole…this is the future? I despair!

    • Ken, thank you for the reaction. Yeah, depending on where you go, what you’re studying and how much money you have, college kids can have that much partying nowadays. And my generation wonders why no one cares about our bachelor degrees.

  5. Pingback: The Social Network | The Soul of the Plot

Leave a Reply

