8 comments on “The Alamo

  1. Thanks for confirming my impression of this film, which I’ve never had any desire to see.

    Memo to Mr. Wayne: You can get yourself a director’s chair, but that doesn’t make you John Ford, any more than a ten gallon hat would have turned Ford into the Duke.

    (And I’m not automatically rejecting the idea of actors becoming directors — I just watched The Town and I really wish that Ben Affleck would quit acting and just focus on writing and directing, which he’s so much better at. Gone Baby Gone showed that there is a real good actor in the Affleck family, but it isn’t Ben.)

  2. This was, pure and simple, a political statement by John Wayne (just recall Wayne’s speech about “republic…I like the sound of the word!” Now I don’t entirely disagree with the philosophy espoused, but why make it all seem so sappy? Also, this is a monument to excessive Oscar campaigning by stars and studio which sometimes pays off in multiple nominations. To be fair, it deserved nominations for Cinematography, Sound, and Music, especially “The Green Leaves of Summer”, a beautiful song. BUT that’s it and I could go ballistic when I think that this film took the place that could, and should, have gone to PSYCHO.

  3. I haven’t seen this film since I was much younger, and the one thing I remember is that it is very loooong. I like your observations on it, though, and it sums up my rather cynical attitude to a lot of this type of western film.

  4. Folks, it was only a movie. But in these times maybe it’s a movie that has to shown again to remind us of where we came from and what it took to get here. There is nothing wrong about waving the flag.

  5. Just worked my way to this one. I was prepared to loathe this film (Oh god, John Wayne tried directing) but I actually quite liked it. If I’m being critical, there is a decent amount of filler. I would have chopped the love story bit with Flaca in particular. But it was actually pretty damn well made, the score by Tiomkin is pretty great, and I was most surprised by the lead actors. Wayne is his usual self, but I think Laurence Harvey and Richard Widmark in particular are very good. And although there’s some flag waving going on here for sure, I have to give props to Wayne for making this far more even-handed and respectful than I would have expected.

    “Psycho” should have been nominated, yes, but it would be unfair to use that as a complaint against THIS film which should be judged on it’s own merits.

  6. I love this film and it is very enjoyable I have visited the Alamo and it is now surrounded by hi rise buildings which tends to lose its original appeal but it still is the Alamo a place we’re heroes showed valour and bravery against impossible odds
    Well done Duke it’s was a great effort and one that will last forever

    • I looked forward to seeing the movie when I was 8 years old. I was so excited the night before that I stayed awake all night. I had always been fascinated by the story and remain so today. I know now of course that the film is largely fantasy created to make a point and not provide a history lesson. As it was, I loved it when I was a kid and love the memory of it today. I have spent years researching the true story and it is amazing, but I’ll always remember the Alamo that Wayne created. flaws and all.

Leave a Reply

