19 comments on “My Movie Year

  1. Pingback: My Movie Year « Fandango Groovers Movie Blog

  2. I love how you gave the stories behind seeing it. Based on sheer number of great films out, I might have to go with 1994. But if its based more on personal experience of films… man I don’t know. 1996 was the year my friends and I really started going to the movies a lot, including our epic attendance at the opening night of Independance Day.
    But 1999 was also a great year as we had the Phanotm Mance premiere, I was completley surprised by two films, The Matrix and Sixth Sense, and of course we went to see American Pie and were damn near rolling in the aisles laughing.

    Okay, 1999 it is then.

    • 1999 was a pretty good year for me too. My cousin and I theater hopped into The Phantom Menace, I saw The Sixth Sense before it was spoiled for me and started seeing movies with friends more often. Not bad at all.

  3. What a great post! 🙂
    Brokeback mountain is a movie that moves me to tears everytime I see it and I think it´s an important movie in so many ways.

  4. I went to one of those midnight screenings for episode 1 but had lost interest and waited until the weekend for episode III. Great story, will those previews be a thing of the past as everyone moves over to digital projection?

    Thanks for taking part.

    • Thank you for hosting!

      Wow, the thought of employee previews being a thing of the past due to digital projection had never even crossed my mind. It’s been over 5 years since my days there, so I’m not sure if anything needs to be previewed for errors with digital projection. It was a rare, but strangely fun when a piece of film would appear before us backwards. We would jump on the radio, asking who wasn’t paying attention while putting the reel together, then antagonize whoever was in the projection booth until they fixed it and got film was running again. True professionals in the film industry.

  5. Nice list!

    I never expected to enjoy Brokeback Mountain as much as I did.

    2005 brought the end of the Star Wars films, but also brought us the beginning of the new Batman franchise.

    Contrary to popular opinions, I also enjoyed King Kong that year.

  6. Nice personal touches in your post, Alyson! It’s always fun to read what people were doing and thinking when they fell in love with certain films. I definitely agree with you re: Walk the Line. That’s the one film that I truly enjoy Resse Witherspoon in; she gave a wonderful, heartfelt performance that complemented Joaquin Phoenix’s great work very well. And she can sing!

  7. Wow, that’s cool that you remembered the experience of watching each movie. I wish my memory was as good! 🙂

    I do like Walk the Line and HP: Goblet of Fire from your list.

  8. Good stuff. I like how you fashioned your list with personal anecdotes. After all that is what films are about – the experience. 2005 looked like a good year!

  9. Now a word from the Old Man (of the) Sea…Interesting topic because so much has been made of 1939 as the supreme film year. I, however, came of cinema age during the 50’s and 60’s…and that is my era! Of all the years, there will never be another like 1956 with its drama and spectacles…and I have only become increasingly convinced of that during the past 56 years: First the epics–The TEN COMMANDMENTS which we get a chance to see every year on TV; GIANT, the Rock Hudson, James Dean, Liz Taylor extravaganza introducing Carrol Baker and Dennis Hopper among others, FRIENDLY PERSUASION with Gary Cooper and introducing Anthony Perkins, WAR & PEACE with Audrey Hepburn and Henry Fonda. The Musicals: THE KING & I and CAROUSEL, both now recognized as classics. Then there was BUS STOP, possibly the best performance of Marilyn Monroe’s life, absolutely deserving of an Oscar nomination with a great supporting cast Don Murray, Hope Lange, Arthur O’Connell, Eileen Heckart. One of the best Westerns ever made came out that year–THE SEARCHERS, with John Wayne and Jeffrey Hunter and Natalie Wood. Foreign Films?–How about Fellini’s greatest ever LA STRADA. It should be mentioned that it was the year that Yul Brynner won the Oscar and hit a grand slam, playing Rameses in 10 Commandments, a Russian count in ANASTASIA, and the king of Siam in The King & I. Other Greats from 1956–Richard Burton’s turn as ALEXANDER THE GREAT; Tennesee Williams’ very controversial BABY DOLL; a Robert Wise epic called HELEN OF TROY, with Jacques Sernas, Rosanna Podesta, and Brigitte Bardot (better BTW than the Brad Pitt version); Kirk Douglas’ arguably greatest performance ever as Vincent Van Gogh in LUST FOR LIFE; two great Foreign films that both won Writing Oscars–THE RED BALLOON and THE BRAVE ONE, both so moving!; Grace Kelly and Alec Guinness in THE SWAN; the grand soap opera with Rock Hudson, Lauren Bacall, and Dorothy Malone WRITTEN ON THE WIND. I’ll add LOVE ME TENDER, SOMEBODY UP THERE LIKES ME, THE BAD SEED, FORBIDDEN PLANET, and finally, the Oscar-winner AROUND THE WORLD IN 80 DAYS, an OK film but a very good travelogue with music and guest appearances galore. Today, I own most of these films, and love them as much now as I did then….What a Year! When I could hardly wait to see what film was coming out the following week! Hooray for ’56!

Leave a Reply

