12 comments on “Silver Linings Playbook

  1. Nice review. I was really surprised how much I enjoyed this film. Lawrence was fantastic in her role and De Niro gives his best performance in years.

  2. When you first did your predictions, I said that my two absolute favorite films of the year were LIFE OF PI and SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK. Now that I’ve seen almost all of the other nominees, nothing has happened to change that assessment. Absolutely loved everyone’s performances and Bradley Cooper has converted me into an admirer. Actually, I am kinda pulling for Lawrence and De Niro to win and would not be at all unhappy to see this pull out a Best Film surprise. What a wonderful film !…can’t wait for the DVD to be released.

  3. I loved this film! I declared it as my personal favorite of 2012, though unfortunately at the moment doesn’t look like it will win much. Getting all of those nominations is an achievement in itself though.
    As for Pat’s mom, you may be interested to know that in the book she does stand up for herself against her husband’s craziness more than she does here. I assume that got rid of that because it was a distraction to the main story, which I think I agree with even though personal empowerment is something I generally support.
    But definitely the best thing about this film is that it’s not just a romantic comedy, it’s also a good film with unique, well developed, and marvelously portrayed characters. Man, I wish that Lincoln came out in a different year, because I want best actor to go to like all of the nominees. Cooper was fantastic in this movie. Hopefully Lawrence will have better luck against the best actress nominees, though I feel like it’s a pretty tough call between them.

    • Thanks Hunter, I was wondering how the film and book compared. Cooper winning the Oscar would be amazing, but yes, Day Lewis will probably get in the way there. Haven’t seen Amour yet, but I think Lawrence has a decent shot of winning.

  4. I really enjoyed this film (I think you’ll find my review of it out there somewhere) and thought Bradley Cooper was the real showstopper – I admit, I hadn’t expected such a good performance from him! Lawrence is solid, while DeNiro almost steals the show in a role I felt was a tad underwhelming for an Oscar nomination. Great review, Alyson. Like you, I’ll be saddled up with a wine and some chocolate while I watch the Oscars in a couple of weeks!!!

Leave a Reply

