8 comments on “Summer 2013 Movies

  1. I liked Iron Man quite a lot, but (once again) I thought the plot and the villain didn’t live up to the heroes and the actors who play them. But it was great that Stark and Rhodey got to spend so much time out of the suits, and the Pepper got to kick some butt.

  2. Happy you could review these!
    I had a lot of fun with Iron Man Three. I remember thinking from the trailers that they were going to make the film way too dark, but I’m glad that didn’t happen. I felt like a lot of times that something dramatic or depressing was going to happen, but they undercut it with humor which was great for me. I’ve been meaning to go back and watch the rest of them (I’ve seen them but only once each, and a while ago), but I just haven’t gotten to it yet.
    The Great Gatsby ended up being pretty much how I expected. Leo was good, but Luhrman’s style and Maguire’s acting got in the way for me. I was surprised by Edgerton though; I thought he was great and I didn’t see that coming.
    Star Trek was hands down my favorite though. LOVED it. I realize it wasn’t a great movie or anything, but I was fangirling so hard I did not even care. It always amazes me how big the Enterprise is as well, that part of it can be blown off and sucking people into space while everyone on the bridge is fine. Sorry Cumberbatch didn’t work for you; I loved him here and after seeing it I’ve become a pretty big fan:)

    • I believe my theater for Star Trek had some pockets of people “fangirling so hard” and they made it fun for all of us. Completely encouraged! (Fangirling/fanboying so hard may have just become my new favorite phrase. Thanks!)

    • I know, it’s a pity I don’t get into Star Trek, perhaps I wasn’t introduced to it well, or at the right age. My husband has recently tried to get me to watch the old tv episodes, but I tend to fall asleep half way through. He seemed more in tune with the film.

Leave a Reply

