The big night is almost here!  So without much fluff, here are my official predictions for tomorrow night’s Academy Awards:

Gravity3

Best Visual Effects

Obviously Gravity.

Best Production Design

This is a toss-up, I can justify any of these films winning.  So why not American Hustle?

Best Film Editing

The way those long-shots were built better earn Gravity this award.

Frozen1

Best Animated Feature

Sadly, I only go to see two of the five nominees: Frozen and The Croods.  Of those, I’d choose Frozen easily.  However, knowing that The Wind Rises is Miyazaki’s last film may tip the votes in his favor.

Best Original Song

Let it go, let it go! I haven’t been able to stop listening to that song for weeks.

Best Adapted Screenplay

I have not seen Before Midnight yet, and I doubt a screenplay with a few extra hundred f-words will win, so I would choose 12 Years a Slave.

Her4

Best Original Screenplay

Her is such an original story that flows so well, I would love to see it win.  My second choice, Nebraska.

Best Supporting Actress

I bet Jennifer Lawrence will win again, for blowing up the science oven, but part of me feels Nyong’o could easily take it.

Best Supporting Actor

All the hype is with Jared Leto, and I agree it was a great performance.  Everyone else is too close to call.

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett was the strongest part of Blue Jasmine, she stands apart from the pack.

Best Actor

Way too close to make a confident call.  DiCaprio is overdue, Dern has seniority, Bale and Ejiofor both guide their films, yet McConaughey  seems to be the favorite.  I pick McConaughey.

Best Director

I see no front runner, so why not Steve McQueen.

12YearsASlave3

Best Picture

If I’ve learned anything from studying the Oscars, it’s that this category can be unpredictable.  But if I had to make an educated guess, I’d take 12 Years a Slave, though I would not be surprised if American Hustle or Gravity wins over the Academy voters.

No matter what the results, I’m sure Ellen Degeneres will be a delightful host, so let’s all have a fun Oscar night.  Enjoy!

12 responses to “Oscar Predictions 2013”

  1. I think Cuaron is the obvious front runner for director, but I also think McQueen had a shot, especially if 12 Years doesn’t take Editing. Most Picture winner get two of the other major awards as well.

    Otherwise, I agree with most of these predictions.

    1. I can see Cuaron talking director as well, very hard to predict this year.

  2. Great list, I agree with most of them, I think. I recently put my list up on my blog.

    1. Nice predictions you’ve got there, like your format.

  3. Gravity’s win for visual effects goes without saying. Best use of 3D in any film, ever.
    I think I went with 12 Years a Slave for production design, mostly based on Lincoln’s win last year. I too feel like it could go to basically any film.
    Gravity also gets editing, and basically every technical category.
    Frozen will get animated feature and original song, though part of me really wants “The Moon Song” from Her to win, “Let it Go” is basically unstopable at this point.
    “I doubt a screenplay with a few extra hundred f-words will win” and I agree. It broke the record I think! Not something the Academy necessarily wants to award though. I’m thinking 12 Years a Slave as well.
    Agreed on original screenplay. I really think Her should win and will (having won several precursor awards), and Nebraska is a good number 2 choice.
    Supporting actress seems to come down to Nyong’o vs. Lawrence, but I hope Nyong’o takes it. Lawrence was funny in American Hustle, but I felt like she was playing herself for the most part.
    Leto does have all the hype, and supporting actor feels like a done deal. All the acting awards seem pretty buttoned up actually, with only supporting actress being up in the air.
    I think Cuarron is going to get director. He’s been winning awards this whole time and the Academy is going to want to give Gravity something, because 12 Years will win the big one. That’s my take on it anyway.
    Nice set of predictions!

    1. Good predictions, I feel like I kinda failed not seeing Gravity in 3D, but I bet it will take most of the technical categories.

  4. I made many of the same, except I think U2 will be the dark horse for best song. Hustle has a very good shot at production design, but I am still picking Gravity.

    1. I can see U2 taking best song, but everyone will still love Let It Go more. 🙂

  5. Ellen is the host? Gush! I can’t stand that program of her, is major garbish.
    I haven’t seen none, but have ear about them. My guess is that Nyong’o can take it too but it’s always unpredictable. I also guess Leonardo will have to wait a little longer… he’s still «young» LOL.

  6. Alison, are you on letterboxd?

    1. Nope, never heard of it until now…but it looks kinda cool. If I do get on there, I’ll add you. 🙂

Leave a comment

Trending

Blog at WordPress.com.