8 comments on “Selma

  1. Ah the first review out of this year’s BP noms!
    I’m seeing this later today and I’m really excited for it. It’s been almost universally praised and I want to see for myself whether Ava DuVernay was unfairly left out of the best director nominees. I have heard a couple of other people say that her direction was a bit shaky as well, which is disheartening on one hand because I want a movie of a subject this important to be outstanding, but it would also mean the Academy aren’t necessarily racists, which is a good thing. I agree that DuVernay and company have a very hard task to live up to after last year’s 12 Years a Slave.

    • Yup, Oscar season is like Christmas around here! I’m glad this movie has such a big following, it certainly has its heart in the right place, but I find myself agreeing with the Academy. Looking forward to your review.

  2. While my own review will expand on this later next month, I was particularly disconcerted by how ponderous and heavy handed I found this film. It was almost as if you could feel the producers and film-makers trying to snag plenty of awards season glory, and that miffed me. It’s moving in parts, and yeah some moments are hard to stomach, but the overriding feeling that kept getting back to was that it was designed less as a contemplative historical document and more a film to wring somebody an Oscar.

    Of the 8 films up for BP, this was my least “favorite”.

    Great review as usual, Alyson.

    • So far I have only seen 4 of the best picture nominees and so far Selma is my least favorite as well. I imagine it’s hard working with such important material to create a film that doesn’t feel so heavy handed.

Leave a Reply

