8 comments on “100 Things I Love About Movies

  1. Oh, what a wonderful idea! (And Happy 30!)

    I could comment on most of them, but here’s just a few:

    The Casablanca scene. Yes. And the Strangelove line (that always cracked my father up).

    I miss Roger Ebert, too. And Katharine Hepburn. Both irreplaceable.

    I watched that last Indiana Jones movie, knowing it wouldn’t be good, just to see Marion Ravenwood again. And it was totally worth it.

    My family has never let me pick a movie again after I selected Sweeney Todd. But I liked it, and my mother liked it (nobody else did, to say the least).

    And your list makes me think of my mother in general, who loved movies, who experienced pretty much the entire history of Hollywood movies in her lifetime (she was born in 1916), and who was my favorite person to see movies with. I would have loved to share this list with her.

    I’m going to link to this post from my blog and add a few of my own.

    Like this one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YnPS_tVbjgM 🙂

  2. First of all, Happy Birthday! Hope you have a great day 🙂
    A big YES! from me on anything relating to Hitchcock. I remember stumbling across your blog several years ago and it was a big inspiration to me to look at classic films, especially Hitchcock’s.
    Love the mentions of Silver Linings Playbook and Lawrence of Arabia as well! Two of my favorite films!
    Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm for films with the internet once again! It’s meant a lot to me over the years and I really can’t thank you enough.

  3. Pingback: one hundred, or at least ten, things i love about movies » Anthony Lee Collins

  4. Alyson, I LOVE this post! This was a great idea. II remember Ebert doing something similar (by the way, I totally agree with #10).

    So many great movie moments, and some interesting stories. You really had to take shelter at a drive in? That scene from twister must have held extra weight for you then!

    You’ve thought of moments I never would have, like that Nebraska scene. And some I absolutely would have, like Clever Girl. Great post.

    One thing I disagree with you on though: popcorn always needs butter!

    • Thanks Ian. Yeah, Colors of the Wind has a whole different meaning for me. Twister didn’t make my fear of tornadoes any better. And I used to be a butter person, until I worked at a movie theater. Being up close and personal with that “butter” ruins it for life. 😛

Leave a Reply

