After I told Roger about my blog, he signed a copy of The Great Movies III.
Thank you for the autograph and the inspiration, Mr. Ebert.

Yesterday, I had just gotten off work and found refuge from the rain in my favorite coffee shop.  My mind was set to write a new review, but out of bad habit, I opened up Twitter, for just a moment, and saw the sad news.  Roger Ebert, the writer I strive to learn from most, my inspiration throughout this blog, had just passed away.

The barista could have guessed I had come across some bad news.  For a few minutes I just sat in disbelief, rubbing my eyes, shaking my head and refreshing my twitter feed as all the love for Roger came pouring through.  What a sad day for the film community, the strongest voice in film criticism was gone.  I’ll never forget the day I briefly met him, seeing all his life and energy shine through despite his tired body.  Though most of us knew of his diminishing health, you’re never ready for the end.

Most film bloggers love Ebert and follow his work.  From the early days of this blog, he has been my go-to writer to emulate.  I’ve strived to learn from his work, not just how to write about movies, but how to become a better writer.  Just earlier that day I thought to myself, “Shoot, I haven’t written a new review lately, Ebert wouldn’t have slacked off in my shoes.”

Over the past three years writing this blog, I have learned a lot from Roger.  On film criticism, I’ve learned that it takes practice, years of it.  It’s not always right to blame actors for a bad movie and if it is a good film (as most that I review are), it’s worth it to be kind and say something good about it.  However, never sacrifice honesty.  That may be the hardest part of film criticism, being brave enough to be honest, especially if you’re opinion isn’t the popular one.

As a writer in general, my God, Ebert’s lessons have been invaluable.  Not only his film reviews, but his blog posts, his twitter account, his memoir, everything he puts out into the world was done with such gusto and care.  They were pieces of him he shared with the whole world and his reach was farther than most writers, of our time or the past.  He connected us, the film community and beyond, in ways we could only imagine.  He made the most of modern communication and helped enrich our human experience.

From this inspired writer, we already miss you Mr. Ebert.  The world is a better place because of you.  Thanks for always being with us at the movies.

11 responses to “Goodbye Roger Ebert”

  1. I envy you your chance to tell Roger Ebert what he meant to you. I have a full heart today.

    1. I was very lucky to have just a moment with him, I couldn’t have asked for more.

  2. Great tribute to a great critic. Ebert will be missed.

  3. Well said, Alyson. Never met the guy, but from what I read of his work, he seemed like a great one.

  4. A great tribute to a man who has influenced so many with not just his movie reviews, but everything he wrote and reflected on.
    –JW

    1. Well said, JW, and thanks.

  5. I was upset to hear, even though I never met him and it wasn’t really a surprise, because of the news a couple of days before that he was cutting down his work because of the recurrence of the cancer. But still, it was really sad.

    I think it was partly because his writing was so conversational. It was like really talking with him. He was never just proclaiming cinematic truths from the top of a mountain somewhere. That’s why the TV show with Gene Siskel was so perfect for him. It gave him the other side of the converesation he always seemed to be having anyway.

    I always enjoyed his reviews, even when I thought he was completely wrong.

    I collected a few links to pieces about him on my blog. Your comment “Shoot, I haven’t written a new review lately, Ebert wouldn’t have slacked off in my shoes.” made me smile, since it reminded me of how Richard Roeper started his piece about Ebert: “Roger would have told me to stop fretting and start writing.”

    1. Anthony, I read your post on Ebert, very well said. I also loved how I could disagree with his review of a film and still end up learning from it. However, more often than not, I was surprised at how much Ebert and I agreed on, usually many years apart.

      1. It’s sort of too bad that he’s so associated wih the thumbs-up/thumbs-down thing, because that’s really the opposite of how he reviewed movies. Yesterday I happened to read the Wikipedia entry for Dr. T. and the Women (a minor Robert Altman movie) and at the end it linked to Ebert’s review. I clicked through to read it (I’d read it before, but didn’t remember what he’d said): http://tinyurl.com/ctgjbkc. It’s not a great movie (I’m an Altman fanatic, and it’s nowhere near my top ten list), but Ebert really thinks about it, bringing out specifics about the film and also more general points (including that Altman was “more interested in women than any other great director, with the exception of Ingmar Bergman” — which is a very provocative thought). He really gets into the acusations of sexism against the film. And this was just a routine review of a fairly non-exceptional film.

  6. You are right, he really did affect film communities everywhere, including our blogging community here. He was always the first stop for reviews for me as well.

    1. So true, Ian. Can you imagine a world where people run film blogs (or whatever the future media mode is) and have never heard of Ebert’s work? I know it’s eventually inevitable, but it I doubt it will happen immediately, his reach was so far.

Leave a comment

Trending

Blog at WordPress.com.