PinkFloydTheWall1Pink Floyd – The Wall is unlike any film I’ve ever seen.  It can be seen as a long, elaborate music video, a daring rock opera or a stand alone story set to music.  There is no concert footage or time in the recording studio shown.  The film keeps rooted in the depths artist’s mind.  It boasts unforgettable images and ideas that flow and bring new dimensions to the music.

PinkFloydTheWall3

The film unfolds like a music video for an entire album.  We hear tracks from The Wall and images tell a stronger story than the album alone.  We watch a boy, Pink (Kevin McKeon), go from an idealistic youth to a disillusioned and isolated young man (Bob Geldof).  All the pain and confusion in his life, from family, school and women turn Pink into a destructive rock star, igniting a riot where similar young men take their aggressions out on a society that failed them.

The animation sequences in the film are haunting and add wonderfully surreal element to the film.  Many times, the animation depicts something so implausible and organically weird that film at the time could not do the image justice.  Flowers interact and transform, showing a struggle between the sexes.  The wall sweeps across the land, destroying a church.  A face stretches out of the wall, screaming.  And a whole army of red and black hammers march menacingly.  My favorite animated scene, the trial, depicts the mother, wife and judge in such grotesque manners, they could bring a lasting psychological impression on any viewer.

PinkFloydTheWall2

One of my favorite images is during the hit song Another Brick in the Wall.  We see school children lined up within school walls that look like a prison.  They march in rhythm into a machine, on the other side they are sitting at a desk with a nondescript face that looks like a pink plastic mask.  It depicts the British school system as an assembly line, churning out disciplined children who lack any creativity and settle for a menial existence.  Or they just become war fodder.

Pink’s relationship with women is particularly interesting.  With his father a casualty of war, he becomes the closest man in his mother’s life, and in turn, she becomes over-protective.  There is a bond, that seems longing and confused that gets shaken when Pink marries.  However, with his romances there seems an inability to communicate, a longing she has that he doesn’t know how to fulfill.  When women betray him, it leaves him even more alone and hurt, that contributes to his depression and isolation.

This film has to be at the top of any classic music lover’s list.  It may not be the most fun film.  It’s heavy themes of isolation, abandonment, war, sex and a less than glamorous rockstar lifestyle can be a real downer, but very thought provoking.  Within the serious rock/fiction genre, this is the best.

“Is there anybody out there?”

6 responses to “Pink Floyd – The Wall”

  1. It’s a shame most people haven’t seen this work of art. I’m glad you’ve seen it.

    1. It may not be the kind of film most people would really enjoy, but it certainly is a work of art. Thanks for commenting!

  2. This is, to the best of my memory, the only movie I’ve ever walked out on. I think it was supposed to be portraying and commenting on what an awful person this guy was, and why, but it just felt like wallowing.

    I always remember that, about halfway through the movie, my then-wife and I just turned, looked at each other, and got up and walked out. We didn’t even have to say anything.

    1. I’ve only left in the middle of one movie (Kick Ass)…but it wasn’t in a theater so, not as dramatic. The first time I saw this film, I was kinda turned off by it and creeped out. It doesn’t give me any warm fuzzy feelings, but I find it fascinating and strangely beautiful. Have you ever given it another chance?

      1. Interesting coincidence, since I’m planning to see Kick-Ass 2 tomorrow. 🙂

        I think sometimes specific movies just hit us, positively or negatively, on a real gut level. I think that’s probably pretty rare, at least for most of us, but it does happen. I’m prepared to defend Moonrise Kingdom as a really good movie, for example, but my feelings about it go beyond anything that could be explained in words. Let the Right One In is another example.

        I’ve never tried to see The Wall again. I expect my reaction would be the same, no matter what I thought about it intellectually. But, of course, some decades have passed, so who knows?

        I don’t have really high hopes for KA2, but I did really like the first one. Which I know a lot of people had a negative reaction to (Roger Ebert, for example).

  3. I think it helps to be either a devoted fan of the music of Pink Floyd and Roger Waters, or to be seriously intoxicated when watching “The Wall”. I was the former, and The Wall was maybe the first movie I ever watched on a 70mm print in a THX equipped theatre. That was a mind-blowing experience. Alan Parker was such a great director at the time, the music powerful and entrancing, and even Bob Geldorf’s limited appearance in the film was bearable. As you wrote, the most memorable sequences are Gerald Scarfe’s animations. This is a psychedelic trip that perfectly matches the album’s music, and one of the few examples for a film based on an album where the film is maybe the more definitive version in retrospect. I love that film – and can understand everybody who doesn’t 🙂

Leave a comment

Trending

Blog at WordPress.com.