4 comments on “The Lion in Winter

  1. I HAVE THE FILM ON A DVD, BUT HAVE NOT WATCHED IT IN A WHILE….BUT ANOTHER STATEMNT FROM KATE….”EVERY FAMILY HAS IT’S UPS AND DOWNS”….THIS FOLLOWING A HEATED ARGUMENT FROM THE SIBLINGS…A GREAT PERFORMANCE FROM EVERYONE, ESPECIALLY KATE….AND SHE DID THIS WITHIN A YEAR OF LOSING SPENCER TRACY, THE LOVE OF HER LIFE.

  2. And she’s back!
    Well, I haven’t seen this one yet, but its on my list. Hepburn and O’Toole just seems like an amazing pair, and I’m glad to hear you thought they work together just as well as I hoped they would.

    • What, did you miss me? Sorry about the reviews being few and far-between lately. Setting up life in a new place is a bit time consuming and with only the shifty internet on my phone for the time being, posting new stuff requires sucking on some wi-fi at a local coffee shop. In my absence, I’ve been developing some new ideas for some post-project movies to review. Thanks always, Ian!

  3. After “2001”, my favorite of 1968…and you’re absolutely right about the Oscar being Kate’s alone that year. As far as I’m concerned, (Sorry, Charly…Cliff) but the Oscar also belonged to Peter O’Toole. As for “all the talk”, yes, but so many great lines: in addition to the “ups and downs” line, the one about riding bare-breasted into Jerusalem–“I near died of wind burn; but the troops were dazzled!” But my favorite was Geoffrey talking to Eleanor: “I know. You know I know. I know you know I know. We know Henry knows, and Henry knows we know it…..we’re a knowledgeable family.” pretty near the best dialogue ever written for film: well-deserved writing awards from the Academy and Writers Guild. I Never get tired of seeing this film!

Leave a Reply

