Bridesmaids was easily one of the funniest films of 2011 and surprisingly well done all around.  It has earned Oscar nominations in Original Screenplay and for Mellisa McCarthy’s performance.  However, some people feel inclined to count McCarthy out of the acting race because her role is on a different level than the other nominees.  As a fellow tomboy and former bridesmaid, I feel compelled to defend Melissa McCarthy’s Supporting Actress nomination.

There is much more to this role than being the chubby, gross-out queen of the bridesmaids.  Megan is the sister of the groom, so she already does not quite fit in with the rest of the girl-friends.  I feel there would be a level of guilt if the bride had not asked Megan to stand up in the wedding.  She seems to be the kind of girl who was always outside of the clique and isn’t as petty or catty as the rest of the group.  Thankfully, she has a strong sense of who she is already and is wonderfully confident in just being herself.  Even if that includes some weird sexual stuff, being proud of that falling off a cruise ship story and owning up to her farts.

Thing is, we see a level past the superficial with Megan that the rest of the gals do not bring.  When Annie has become the pariah of the group, Megan is the only one willing to talk to her.  And it is not the usual fake girl talk, “Oh, it’ll be alright.”  Megan gets real with Annie, while keeping to her intense, butch attitude.  “I’m life Annie, and I’m biting you in the ass!”

What Melissa McCarthy has dared to do with this role was create a unique female character that feels more genuine and memorable than anyone else in the film.  Burping, farting, having a real deal-with-it conversation is not something Hollywood shows women doing without sounding like a cure-that-feminine-itch commercial.  Even though Megan comes off immediately as gross, McCarthy can make her surprisingly refreshing.

Whether she was shitting in a sink or driving a van full of puppies, Melissa McCarthy was spot on and made me laugh until I cried.  It is nice to see an unusual comedy role get some well deserved recognition.

“I want to apologize.  I’m not even confident on which end that came out of.”

11 responses to “Melissa McCarthy – Bridesmaids”

  1. Hurm, I don’t know….

    I’ve been pretty vocal in my anti-Bridesmaids crusade, and McCarthy’s nomination particularly annoying. Though you do make a good case for her here.

  2. I’m really surprised by your review in particular and by the extreme reactions by people in general. I must really have lost touch; but it is beyond me how such a stupid, trashy, UNfunny, downright boring film could be marketed as the best comedy of the year…and best Screenplay? The cop was kind of an interesting character; but what was with the obnoxious boyfriend? None of it was funny and the characters were all pathetic…PLUS, as I recall, bathroom humor was really big when I was in the 3rd or 4th grade. This was just disgusting!! Melissa McCarthy was truly terrific in THE NINES; but what happened here is unforgiveable–she was so wasted! There was one humerous aspect to the film, however: for those who rented the DVD, the producers had the incredible nerve to post a notice that you have to BUY the DVD in order to see the “Bonus Features”–now THAT made me laugh! Possibly the worst film I’ve seen in years.

  3. Well, I hate to pile on but I really wasn’t a fan of this movie either. You do make a good case for McCarthy, but I also think you may be giving the depth of her role a little too much credit. She was more genuine then everyone else in the film, yes, but with this cast of characters that’s not too difficult.

  4. Gentlemen, thank you for the comments and the like. I was expecting negative opinions, so far I have found very few men who enjoyed Bridesmaids. My poor husband was also disgusted, and my hysterical laughter could not convince him otherwise.
    Thing is, Bridesmaids is the only raunchy comedy I have found that caters to women. Unfortunately, that can isolate men from some of the jokes and connecting to the situations. But hey, we’ve sat through countless guy comedies, where men are perverse and the girl isn’t much more than an idealistic object to fight for, right? Here, it’s turned around, with a slew of weird women and, well, perfect guys only exist in rom-coms. But Ken, I think the obnoxious boyfriend is an archetype for every good looking, but otherwise terrible boyfriend that women only stay with to avoid being single.

    1. Just so you know, I equally despised THE HANGOVER and other raunchy “guy” films too numerous to name…I guess I just have a different sense of humor and don’t find these films to be at all funny, not even slightly amusing. I wish they had a “Hangover/Bridesmaids” warning label for folks like me.

  5. I’m a man and really like “Bridesmaids.” I’ve only seen it the one time in theaters, but greatly prefer it to male equivalents (i.e. “The Hangover”).

  6. Nice words, Alyson, but you still haven’t convinced me that McCarthy’s work was worthy of the Holy Grail of acting. I think I saw Jim Carrey do a similar performance in… hell, most of his earlier films…. and he hasn’t won an Oscar.

    1. It might make very little difference, but I actually did enjoy Bridesmaids. Just wanted to clarify on that point.

  7. Nice to find some guys who like Bridesmaids! While I enjoy and find appreciation for McCarthy’s role, I doubt she will be bringing home the Oscar (my money is on Octavia Spencer). Also, this genera of comedy is very hit-and-miss for me. I’m thick skinned, but I approach these movies with caution. The Hangover was funny the first time, I still laugh at certain scenes from 40 Year Old Virgin, and that’s about it. Bridesmaids feels like it can be funny every time, I’ve been told it gets better with every watch. I hope to test that theory soon and let you know the results.
    Again, thank you all for the comments and great discussion!

    1. I still urge you and fellow McCarthy-ites to see THE NINES. That absolutely deserved a nomination!

      1. Oh yes, thank you for mentioning The Nines. Since you first brought it up, I have added it to my Netflix cue. Looking forward to it.

Leave a comment

Trending

Blog at WordPress.com.