astarisborn20181A Star is Born is a story that seems to be revived every couple decades. The first film was in 1937. A remake with Judy Garland and James Mason came in 1954. And another came to be with Barbara Streisand in 1976. Now, with Lady Gaga, Bradley Cooper stars and has made his directorial debut with his new, updated version of the story. Here, instead of discovering a young actress, his aging star of a character discovers a young singer/songwriter. Bringing this story into the modern music industry breathes new life into it and uses the opportunity to bring amazing original songs into the film. The music is so central to the film it is nearly a musical.

astarisborn20183

The soundtrack to this film is phenomenal. Each song is not only beautifully performed within the film but adds to the story. It’s hard for me to pick a favorite. Shallow, nominated for best song, is a perfect duet that helps establish our characters and their budding love story. Is That Alright is a sweet emotional declaration of love and Lady Gaga kills it.  I’ll Never Love Again is a moving ending tribute that secretly reveals Jack’s intentions. And sometimes I just can’t stop listening to Always Remember Us This Way. I’m looking forward to seeing Cooper and Gaga perform on Oscar night.

Cooper and Gaga are awesome together, I imagine there will be talk of Oscar nominations, but we’ll see how thick the competition grows. Cooper portrays his fading rock star with so much charisma that the audience can’t help but fall for him as Gaga’s Ally does. He stumbles drunk and gravels his voice so convincingly that he could be Sam Elliott’s brother. And Gaga steals the show growing from a meek young woman singing in a drag bar to a superstar as bright on screen as Gaga is in real life. She seems so perfectly cast for this role, she makes it all look so natural. Her greatest moment for me was first singing Shallow on stage, she looks so perfectly determined, nervous and overwhelmed to shine in such a big and unexpected moment.

astarisborn20184

My biggest gripe with A Star is Born is that there seems to be no sense of time. We can assume this story takes place over years, but it feels like such a whirlwind that it could all be in a few weeks. Yes, I know it takes time to record albums and get to the Grammy’s and get in and out of rehab but it all it just thrown at us with nothing in the background to help us stay grounded in time. But perhaps that’s how this love story is, a whirlwind with time not factoring in. But I doubt that’s how Cooper meant it.

Also, he is not very subtle with foreshadowing is he? If you’ve seen any previous versions of A Star is Born, you know what happens, but if you don’t, just look for a few clues. There’s some bright, neon ones hanging in the background for a little too long in the beginning. But let’s give the guy a break, for his first time directing he does a great job.

A STAR IS BORN

A Star is Born has been nominated for eight Academy Awards including best original song, sound mixing, adapted screenplay, cinematography and Best Picture. While Bradley Cooper was shut out of a directing nomination, he did receive one for best actor, his fourth acting nomination. Sam Elliott is nominated for best supporting actor and Lady Gaga for best actress, both of them their first Oscar nominations.

Among the eight Best Picture nominees announced yesterday, A Star is Born feels a bit out of place. I agree that it’s a very well done film, but it just seems to be lacking that certain something to send it over the edge. Many of the other nominated films are about race, politics or boast multiple female leads. Bohemian Rhapsody already has the musical aspect covered. And yet, here stands A Star is Born, a remake or a remake featuring white leads in heterosexual roles and a lot of lens flare. Maybe the Academy was afraid to lose their main viewers. Or Cooper knew what he was singing about.

“Maybe it’s time to let the old ways die.”

3 responses to “A Star is Born (2018)”

  1. Interesting that you start the Best Film category with “Star”. I guess crotchety old age is taking over as this was my 3rd viewing of this “epic” love story and fragile male ego which just can’t handle a woman being more successful than her male creator. It did inspire me to see the 1937 original to try to understand what possessed Hollywood to keep telling the same tired story every 20 years. The first one for me was just silly and hard to watch as I am a great admirer of Frederic March; the 2nd version featured music by Judy Garland which I hated and James Mason as an unlikely matinee idol in the era of a young Brando and James Dean…or maybe it was just my being 12 years old at the time; all I remember of the 3rd version is Streisand singing a nice song “Evergreen”; I will say that of all the male leads, Bradley Cooper made the best Mr. Main of the 4 versions! But ENOUGH ALREADY with remaking “Star”. My pick for best song is “I’ll Never Love Again”.
    Interesting that Cooper was overlooked for Director’ but…and I hate this about the Academy…they seem to have been intent on making sure that they are racially and ethnically correct in this category. In this “Year of the woman”, this has led to ignoring the Directors of the 2 Best films of the year (my opinion) Chloe Zhao for THE RIDER and Debra Granik for LEAVE NO TRACE. Maybe the Academy should start looking for the best and stop trying to be so clever…the result for me is that I only even liked 3 of the nominated Best Picture films at all…

    1. Ken, I agree, this tired old story needs to be sent out to pasture. However, this was my favorite version. I’ll Never Love Again is one of the best songs, so many of them are great!
      I need to see The Rider and Leave No Trace, I’ve heard great things about them. I’m cool with them trying to make the categories more diverse, but yeah, we need more female directors recognized. Thanks for commenting!

  2. That Shallow stage scene really was great; one of the best of 2018, a year which actually had a lot of great individual scenes.

Leave a comment

Trending

Blog at WordPress.com.