Summer is gone, hello autumn! Through August and September I found little time to devote to movies thanks to my two year old’s sleep regression. It’s hard to watch a movie when your kid is up screaming for attention all evening. Thankfully my husband is super supportive, better at the whole bedtime routine and entertains the kids so I can take in a movie on a Saturday. Here are the new-to-me movies I watched in August and September:

August:

  • The Lion King (2019 Jon Favreau)
  • *Cleo from 5-7 (1962 Agnès Varda)
  • Creature with the Atom Brain (1955 Edward L. Cahn)
  • An American Pickle (2020 Brandon Frost)
  • Night Monster (1942 Ford Beebe)
  • Snowpiercer (2013 Bong Joon Ho)
  • *7 Weeks (2016 Constanza Figari)
  • *Mostly Martha (2001 Sandra Nettelbeck)
  • My Neighbor Totoro (Hayao Miyazaki)

September:

  • Trolls World Tour (2020  Walt Dohrn, David P. Smith)
  • *The Love Witch (2016 Anna Biller)
  • *A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night (2014 Ana Lily Amirpour)
  • *Unpregnant (2020 Rachel Lee Goldenberg)
  • The Peanut Butter Falcon (2019 Tyler Nilson, Michael Schwartz)
  • The Conjuring 2 (2016 James Wan)
  • The Witch (2015 Robert Eggers)

*indicates a film directed or co-directed by a woman

#52FilmsByWomen

As you might see, I’ve been watching some new-to-me horror movies. Believe me, it’s easier to convince myself to watch The Conjuring 2 on a sunny afternoon than on a chilly evening. I plan to feature it and a few others next month as I expand my October Haunts. Stay tuned and thanks for reading.

Leave a comment

Trending

Blog at WordPress.com.