Disney’s Haunted Mansion film is made for fans of the legendary Disney parks ride. I am one of thoes fans who can proudly say that Haunted Mansion is my favorite Disney World ride, so this film was right up my alley. The film perfectly greets us foolish mortals, lets us explore the mansion at fun new perspectives, shows us some of our favorite happy haunts and expands the tale of a certain ghost fans have been dying to meet. This film’s release to theaters was timed right as Disneyland and Disney World announced a new haunt to their Haunted Mansion attractions: The Hatbox Ghost.

A quick history of The Hatbox Ghost, outside of this film’s story. The Disney Imagineers have been trying to bring this character into the Haunted Mansion from the start, but they could never figure out the technical trickery to bring this magic into the mansion for guests to experience. The main idea behind Hatbox is that he is a menacing, hunchbacked ghost who wears a tophat, but also holds a hatbox. One moment his head is on his shoulders, and in a flash it disappears only to reappear inside the hatbox he is holding. I don’t have the technical mind to break down the mechanics behind how this trick is done, nor do I like to explain how the sausage is made, but it’s interesting and easy to find on the internet. Finally, after over 50 years, the Imagineers have delivered a functioning Hatbox Ghost into both US Haunted Mansions. And this foolish mortal is itching to plan another trip to Orlando just to see him. 

Anyway, back to the film. In this story we follow Ben (LaKeith Stanfield) a scientist working on a camera that can capture images of the unseen, turned New Orleans ghost tour guide. He seems a bit lost and jaded, telling his eager tourists that ghosts don’t exist. And he believes that, until he is asked to bring his special camera to an old mansion to see if he can take any pictures of ghosts for a mother and son (Rosario Dawson  and Chase Dillon) who just bought the mansion. When a ghost follows Ben home he becomes a believer and ventures back to the mansion for answers. He and the others who have acquired an unwanted ghost companion (which grows to include fun characters played by Owen Wilson, Tiffany Haddish and Danny DeVito) band together to investigate the mansion’s dark history.  Together they unravel a mystery involving a grieving William Gracy, Madame Liota (Jamie Lee Curtis) the powerful medium, the Hatbox Ghost and about 996 other grim grinning ghosts.

Haunted Mansion is rated PG13 but can be fun for all ages (if they don’t scare too easily). Some of the ghosts look a bit scary (this version of Constance Hatchaway is considerably creepy) and there is some violence (the duelling brothers), but mostly tales of violence. Parents just need to be aware of what their children can handle. Since my 5 year old already knows and loves The Haunted Mansion, doesn’t scare easily and is used to mildly scary movies, I would let him watch this film, with supervision. I think it will make for a fun, spooky season movie night. 

My only mild complaint concerns the Hatbox ghost. (Caution, spoilers ahead!) While I think it’s so cool that the imagineers have finally figured out how to make him work in the ride, I think it’s a little much to twist the Haunted Mansion’s long standing lore around him. I’d prefer Hatbox to remain a more mysterious entity and be less of a villain to all the other happy haunts. While I don’t exactly like it, I get it. He makes a good villain and this movie is a great way to introduce and get people excited to finally meet Hatbox. And being the Disney World nerd I am, I have heard where to find him in the ride. I won’t spoil that, but I was dead against finding him there, until I saw this movie and this story makes it make sense.

“This house is dripping with souls, but there’s always room for one more.”

One response to “Haunted Mansion”

  1. Good review. I really didn’t expect much from this movie, so I did enjoy some parts of it. However, I felt it was a bit of a forgetful project, especially since it did fully utilize its acting talent, who (besides a few) didn’t fully capitalized on their screen presence. It was just okay endeavor.

Leave a comment

Trending

Blog at WordPress.com.