I held my first Oscar today, I can’t think of a more perfect way to start this blog.

Alyson-iscar

Here’s the project: watch and review all Best Picture Nominees for the history of The Academy Awards.  That’s about 470 films between 1928 and 2009.  Ideally, I plan on knocking them all out in a year, averaging nine films a week.  In reality, there are a few films so rare and elusive, I might not be able to find them.  But I’ll turn every stone in my efforts.

I can already hear the masses groaning.  Ugh, it’s another self righteous Julie and Julia copy cat.  I’ve seen the movie, and everyone thinks they can have a blog now because of it, but really, how many will stick to their guns?  Once their soufflé collapses they’ll cry about how they’ve gotten fat and how no one reads it anyway.  Not me.  This is for all the marbles, including the few left in my head.

I believe I can accomplish more than a dent in my couch throughout the long year ahead.  First, I’ve always believed that to better understand the art of film, one has to branch out and sample a little of everything.  Why not travel through the best that time has to offer?  Some of these are familiar to everyone; The Wizard of Oz, Star Wars, Jaws.  Others have practically been forgotten.  It would be my pleasure to resurrect a few for a new generation to enjoy.

To coincide within the “Oscar Year,” I’ll post my first review the day after The Academy Awards, March 8th, and hopefully end the project just before the next awards.  The films will be posted by year, in random order, which means thanks to excel randomizer, I’ll start with the year 2000.  A nice one to begin with, if you ask me.

There you have it, the journey has officially begun and I encourage all to join me.  Bookmark me, tell your film loving friends and stock up on popcorn, ‘cause come March 8th it’ll be full stem ahead.  Comments, be they praise or criticism, are welcome.

4 responses to “The Journey Begins…”

  1. You’re going to have to watch some real dogs along the way. Off the top of my head: Memoirs of a Geisha, Crash, Seabiscuit, Life is Beautiful. I fully support this effort though, and I’m way looking forward to your opinions.

  2. And I learned something new! Memoirs did not get nominated, so you’ll be spared that one. Also, 2007 was a GREAT year for nominees, as were 1993 and 1994. You DO have Netflix, right?

  3. Thanks Joe! Yeah, I’ve already encountered some less than wonderful nominations. ’94 is one year I’m really looking forward to.
    I don’t think this could be possible without Netflix. Part of the fun here is beating the mailman once I’m done with a DVD. I’m sure I’ll include some praise/angry rants about the Netflix system along the way.

  4. Oh, one more suggestion. If you can track down a VHS copy or get one by some other means, you should also review “The Oscar.” Written by Harlan Ellison, it’s widely regarded as one of The Worst of The Worst. Criminally, it’s not on DVD.

Leave a comment

Trending

Blog at WordPress.com.