JurassicPark1Twenty years ago, Jurassic Park was first released to theaters and I was a kid crazy about dinosaurs.  However, heeding a warning from my aunt who said it was “too scary for kids,” my parents did not take me to see it.  I remember this being a very big deal to me; there was some begging, pleading, bargaining and crying over the fact that I wasn’t allowed to see Jurassic Park.  My parents don’t recall any of this injustice.  Anyway, this weekend, I plan to heal one of the biggest movie disappointments of my childhood and go bananas seeing Jurassic Park re-released in 3D.  I am so excited!

jurassicpark2

Over the past twenty years, Jurassic Park has become one of my favorite films.  It has two main elements I loved as a kid: adventure and dinosaurs.  As I got older, some of the more complicated themes came to light in new ways.  All the technology holding Jurassic Park together is no match for the unbridled fury of nature.  My mind melted when I first figured that out, since then I have held the utmost respect for nature.  The effects blew me away as a kid and they still hold up today.  And I will dare to say that this is one of John Williams’ greatest compositions, I could listen to the soundtrack all day (sometimes I do).

I don’t think I can pick one favorite scene from the film.  The t-rex attack is a wonderful bit of terror, the raptors hunting the kids in the kitchen is a brilliant moment of modern suspense and the dilophosaurus attack (the fanned, spitting one for non-dino-nerds) is a great surprise packed with sweet revenge.  But the scene where we first see dinosaurs packs a different kind of raw emotion, I can’t help but get caught up in it.

JurassicPark3

In the scene where Dr. Grant and Dr. Sattler see their first dinosaurs, I cry every time.  As a kid, it was a moment of wonder and excitement, and it still is, but it just hits me in a much more emotional spot now.  Seeing those creatures is an impossible dream, and yet for them, there they are, living breathing and doing all the things they only theorized they would.  I can’t even imagine how I would react to really seeing dinosaurs, or anything else I know is impossible.  And that music, it moves perfectly with our wondrous dinosaurs.  Did I mention how much I love dinosaurs?

Of course, the movie isn’t all happy times with the gentle giants.  Some of the scenes are pretty intense and could scare little ones.  Especially when the t-rex attacks the car with the children inside.  And the dilophosaurus scene is known for tricking kids into a false sense of security.

JurassicPark4

But when you really look at Jurassic Park, there is very little gore.  The most violent moment is when the t-rex eats Martin Ferrero’s character off the toilet, and it’s not bloody.  In fact, thinking about a man being eaten by a dinosaur off a toilet is kinda funny, in a very dark way.  Same thing in how we discover what happened to Samuel L. Jackson’s character.  All the big dino-attack moments are either with no blood, off camera or obscured behind something.

So parents, make your decision wisely.  If Jurassic Park only comes to theaters once every twenty years, you may end up raising a jaded dino/film fan if you don’t take your kids to see it now.  I love my parents for trying to protect me, but please, that horse head in The Godfather did more damage than Jurassic Park could.  And dad would call me into the room just in time for it, every time he found it on tv before I was six.  Jurassic Park feels like it was made with children in mind and I would highly recommend kids see it before the age of ten.

At the Oscars, Jurassic Park was only recognized for three technical awards.  The film won best sound, sound effects and visual effects.  Today, it is in the top 250 on IMDB, one of the 1001 Movies to See Before You Die and considered a classic that everyone is more than familiar with.

This evening, I plan to do what I wanted to do 20 years ago: sit my butt in a theater and hold on for a wild dino-filled adventure.  Sure, I’ve seen Jurassic Park over a hundred times by now, there will be no surprises.  That’s not the point.  There is still a seven year old kid inside me who needs to be in that theater and can’t wait to see Jurassic Park on the big screen.

“They’re moving in herds.  They do move in herds.”

6 responses to “Jurassic Park: 20 Years of Dinosaurs, Adventure and Waiting”

  1. After the thrill of LIFE OF PI in 3D, I’m ready for this one. What a great movie this was…back in ’93, almost every time I went to the local multiplex, no matter what I intended to see, I wound up seeing JURASSIC PARK again. I don’t even know how many times I wound up seeing it; but I just couldn’t get enough of the dinosaurs–MY favorites were those “clever girls” the Raptors! As with other classics, JURASSIC PARK has received more recognition with the passage of time. Lest we forget, though, Spielberg was competing against himself with the Academy since he presented us with SCHINDLER’S LIST the same year–a remarkable achievement! I always have been a fan of Spielberg; but to do these 2 films in the same year shows a versatility that has made him a Film Director of legend.

    1. My seven year old self would have been so jealous of you, Ken. I always forget that Schindler’s List was the same year. Two films, both great in very different ways from Spielberg in such a short amount of time, truly amazing.

  2. Your parents didn’t let you go see it? And you forgave them?!

    1. There’s forgiveness and then there’s just moving on peacefully. Like I said, I clearly haven’t forgotten, but they did. In their defense, I probably would have freaked out first seeing the big t-rex scene. Last night in the theater, it was more intense than I ever remembered.

  3. I let my brother Mark talk me into taking Luke and Austin to see Jurassic Park. Luke did fine, Austin buried his face into my chest during parts of the movie, and we both had our feet up in the seat during the kitchen scene. I still stop and watch this movie when I come across it while channel surfing,
    Also Dave and I read on a site honoring him; Roger Ebert’s top ten worst movies he ever reviewed . The quotes posted on this site were so funny and I realized how intelligent the man was. I am so glad you had the chance to meet him.

    1. Wonderful memories. This weekend, a family sat in front of us at the theater and I noticed the littlest one (maybe 5 years old) just buried his face into his mom during the t-rex scene. I imagined little Austin reacting the same way back then. Thankfully, the kid was fine and happy when it was all over.
      Ebert sure had some great ways to tell the world how much he disliked a film. I’m very lucky and grateful to have met him.

Leave a comment

Trending

Blog at WordPress.com.